Events

Valentines?

Ahh, Valentines Day. The day of love and romance. The day when people go the extra mile for their loving other and spend £££ on buying flowers, cards, chocolates, dinner reservations and the like. But not me.

I am not a fan of Valentines day, and quite luckily, neither is Martin.

*Disclaimer: This is just my view on Valentines day, I have no objection to how people celebrate it!*

 

k11cdc7loau-clem-onojeghuo
Source: Unsplash

I remember it being one of the first conversations we really got into, it started with Martin asking “So, what’s your view on Valentines Day?” to which my reply was something along the lines of, “ugh, well it’s bloody stupid isn’t it? Why do you need a day to tell your partner how much you love them? It’s a waste of money!” And I stick to that still. Don’t get me wrong, we like to be romantic and we do have special days, but we both agree that Valentines Day is just another money making scheme and a complete waste of time. As I said, there are 365 days of the year (366 in a leap year, for those who are pedantic.) Why is it we need to single just one day out to show our partners how much we love them? Everything people do on February 14th can be done any other time of the year (and probably at half the price!)

So it got me thinking, Why do we celebrate Valentines Day in the first place? *Hello google*

 

c681861a69418e341f6eb8840f3c6c3c
Source: Pinterest/Google Images

 

-NOTE: A little history lesson is about to come up…-

Google wasn’t very helpful either…every website I read contradicted the last one! It might, or might not come from an old Roman Festival called “Lupercalia”- which is actually on the 15th February…go figure…It was a festival to the Roman God, Lupercus – the god of fertility. Makes a bit more sense now. During the festival they would sacrifice a goat and a dog, then walk through the streets of Rome with the skins on sticks, and touch anyone they passed with it, and women would line up to be touched as it was supposed to ensure fertility…Kinda makes you glad we know much more about the human body now! (Sources: (un)reliable Wiki, BBC and Britannica) Still not sure how this evolved into Valentines Day as we know it, so I then searched for St. Valentines himself. He was a priest/bishop in the 3rd Century who conducted illegitimate weddings, against Emperor Claudius who “claimed that married men made poor soldiers and consequently decreed that all marriages of younger citizens would be outlawed.”[1] But he carried on anyway as he believed marriage was part of God’s plan and purpose for the world. Eventually he was caught, jailed and beheaded – and fell in love with the jailers daughter! Supposedly, on the evening of his execution, he left her a note saying, “from your Valentine.” And here we are today.

Can you believe it, this holiday is estimated to have one billion cards sent each year! (And not one of them will be sent to me haha!)  Martin and I much prefer to celebrate our anniversary date as it holds much more meaning to us than Valentines Day. Plus, The Walking Dead starts on the 13th Feb so we’re much more excited for that too.

 

15977626_1829922473916839_2128543685074946547_n
Source: The Walking Dead Memes on FB

I have absolutely no objections to people who do celebrate Valentines day, in a way I can see the appeal.. But as I said, it’s not for us, and that’s okay 🙂

Having said all that, if we were to celebrate, I wouldn’t like flowers – nothing says I love you like a bunch of wilting flowers, that you then have to throw out and clean the gammy vase. Cheers babe. More washing, just what I wanted! I’d be quite happy with Martin cooking me dinner and washing up afterwards to be honest. Or a box of donuts. If food is involved chances are I’m going to 100% be happy with it.

So, can we just skip Valentines Day and get straight to Pancake day??

What are your views on Valentines day?

Becky xo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

