Daily Life · Family

You don’t need money to have a good time. (But it’d be nice!)

Okay, so picture this: Including the weekend, you’re 5 days into the Easter Holidays and you haven’t heard the words “I’m bored” yet… Seems like a dream right? Well, if it’s a dream I don’t want to wake up, because this is exactly what we’ve managed to accomplish! And what’s even better, we haven’t spent a penny on a day out or anything!

What’s your secret Becky?! I can hear many parents asking, and to be quite honest, it’s not a secret…we’ve been keeping the kiddos entertained most days by enjoying the sunshine and playing outside in the garden! It’s easy to stick the TV on or get the tablet/iPad out and leave them to it, and in truth, the TV is on in our home, mainly because William demands it to be on by shoving the remote in my face if it’s off. They might watch a couple of episodes on CBeebies, but then they’re soon on the floor playing with their toys or I’ve whisked them outside into the garden. There’s no need to scrape the bottom of our purses to find a few spare coins floating around for that ice cream they will so desperately want at the park, or performing the “wee dance” when you can’t find the nearest toilet (or you’re waiting in line!) Food and drink is on demand and ready at the tip of our fingers, and I – I mean, the kids don’t have to get dressed…heh…

IMG_6505.JPG

Not only this, but I tried to be a little organised before the holidays began and asked Lily’s cousin if she wanted a sleepover too, so that was also a winner! The girls just played so nicely, it was almost as if they weren’t even in the house! (That is, until they bounded downstairs because they found a spider in Lily’s bedroom…we all played downstairs for a while there, I don’t do spiders either.) I’m pretty sure they managed to play with every toy Lily has, alongside filling my table with drawings of the Avengers and made up robots and I don’t even know what else! Spending time with the family is a great way to keep the kids entertained, we even met up with an Aunty at a school fayre, and whilst we didn’t spend a lot, I did have some left over pennies from my birthday so I treated Lily to a new headband and her face painted.

IMG_6480.JPG

The unfortunate part of these holidays is payday lands right at the end of it. So as much as I would love to spend every day doing activities and going out places, we simply can’t afford it this time. It doesn’t bother me too much though, you don’t need money to have a good time (but it’d be nice.) Lily has a stash of arts and crafts bits and bobs, so I’m sure we’ll be able to get some Easter creations made, we live near 2 little parks, and even more closer to town which is a nice little walk – add in a picnic and there’s an afternoon sorted! (Plus some corn or some oats for the ducks – please don’t feed them bread, it’s really not good for them! Check out this post on why you shouldn’t feed ducks bread)

If you look around your home, I’m sure you can find a hundred and one ideas to keep your kids entertained this Easter! Not everyone is keen on letting them into the kitchen to bake (I don’t blame you, I’m not a fan either.) But I can tell you that kids of all ages still love to make forts in the living room, whip out those duvets and blankets and get fort making, put a DVD on and you’re good to go! Not feeling it? How about arts and crafts? You don’t need anything fancy for an arts and crafts session, your recycling will do! Cardboard boxes, yoghurt pots, milk cartons…add some scissors and sellotape and you’ll be amazed what your kids will make (you might have to use your imagination too here…) Still not feeling it? Call the grandparents.

Now, we still have another 12 days to keep this up…Can I do it? I blooming well hope so! (Knowing my luck I’ve blown my trumpet too soon.) Hopefully we can get through this unscathed and not-bored! We’re off to Nanny’s on Easter Sunday for a roast, and that thought is keeping me going.

What have you all got planned for the holidays?

Becky x

Hot Pink Wellingtons
7 thoughts on “You don’t need money to have a good time. (But it’d be nice!)

  1. Great post! And I agree, you don’t need money to have a good time. Sounds like you’re all enjoying your holidays anyway 🙂 the only plans we have so far is our traditional Sunday dinner we always have on Easter Sunday. Other than that we’ve just been taking kory to park, for walks with the dog, when the weather is nice it’s the perfect excuse for a walk. Like you said, pay day is at the end of the month and we’re aren’t in any position either to be going on days out every day xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was saying to my MIL that if you go out to all these grand places and spend loads of money during the holidays all the time, the kids will come to expect it and it’s just not fun – not only that but they would be much more appreciative of a day out if it’s not something that’s done all the time, and they’re more likely to remember their time out! I’m glad you’re enjoying the simple things like us! 😀 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck with the rest of your holidays! I agree – so often it’s the things that are free that my son loves the most. He’s a huge fan of making a den in the living room with all our sofa cushions, going to feed the ducks, or even just pottering around the garden. We’re lucky to have lots of places near us to go which do cost money, but I think we all need those low key days to recharge, and to appreciate the ‘big’ days out more. Thanks for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

