Daily Life

What is it about blogs?

There are quite literally hundreds of thousands of blogs out there, and they vary from a vast range of topics such as: parenting, food, reviews, fashion, photography, travel etc. You name it; someone is writing about it. And it got me thinking, what is it about blogs that we find so interesting? Why do we read them? Is it the factual knowledge some give? Or the opinion of someone else? Or the hope that someone else is going through what you are? Or is it that we’re just plain nosey?

 

Cat-on-computer
Credit: Google Images

 

Whatever your reason for reading a blog is, I’d love to know; because I am largely the latter. I like to know what other people get up to and what their days consist of. I like to see what their thoughts are, and since becoming a mum I especially like to read other parenting blogs and know that I am not alone with teething and temper tantrums and sleepless nights and everything else that comes with a baby! It’s also a great way to find activities to entertain the kids with too. Sometimes when I have a spare moment, I like to browse through them and read them just as I would a magazine. I think it’s a great way to get a first-hand experience/opinion on days out, activities, toys, and just about anything else you could want a real opinion on!

It’s a fascinating concept that people can splash their lives or hobbies onto the internet, and other people want to hear and read about it. But what makes you go back to that blogger? Is it the content? The writing style? Are they funny? Do they have decent pictures? Is it just that you relate to what they’re talking about?

 

3569a69cc6087f0c2392177189130f416d2fd934fcd6b4a7acf6b8987bda0e29
Credit: Google Images

 

I know I’m asking a lot of questions, but it generally interests me, and to be honest, I’d like to know so I can better my blog and find what attracts and keeps readers interested. I know I’m still in the early days, but it’s never too early to improve!

So, whatever your reason is for reading my blog, please tell me! I started this blog as a way to remember milestones and important memories for my family, but of course I would love for other people to share in our adventures too!

Becky x

 

2 thoughts on “What is it about blogs?

  1. I have only just found your blog today. I took a look after you commented on a post of mine. Your experience of Lily at Beavers sounds so similar to my older son. He didn’t like being left anywhere and for years he wouldn’t even stay with my best friend, despite seeing her several times a week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

