Family · parenting

“Will You Have Any More Kids?”

If there’s one thing in this life that I don’t have, it’s a plan. Whether that’s a plan for keeping the kids entertained over the half term holidays, or to get into gear and actually write something on here, or even where I see my life in 5, 10, or 30 years. Whatever it is, I tend to wing it.

13173747_10154862873424676_8254904008804051652_n

I am, for the most part, an “in the moment” kind of person. If I have a plan or any kind of organisation ready, please: give me a gold star. I didn’t plan to become a mum at 20, or to have a house at 22, or to have a Chinese for dinner tonight either, (bonus!) And I know some people have their lives sorted and they’re going to find their other half by age 25, be married at 26 and have 3 kids by the time they’re 30 and live in a semi detatched house with a white picket fence and a big back garden. But not me. So please, for the love of all things planned and organised, stop asking me if I plan to have any more kids! I wouldn’t mind so much if people asked when I’m not pregnant. But they don’t. It seems to be a question that is only raised when there is a human ALREADY growing inside of me. Is that not enough for you? With both William and Bump, I’ve lost count how many times I’ve been asked this, and I can’t fathom why it’s only asked when I’m pregnant?

15895276_10155689883689676_8508902218439266668_n.jpg

But I can’t answer your question, because I don’t know. I don’t plan these things 4 years in advance. I don’t know whether we’ll be in a decent financial position to procreate again. I don’t know whether I’ll have a nice or traumatic labour which could sway my mind. I don’t know if I’m spawning the son of Satan in my uterus right now. I don’t know if the rest of this pregnancy will be rainbows and sunshine or turn me into a raging hormonal bitch (even more than it already has.) I don’t know if I do want anymore! There are too many factors into your question. And again, I am currently pregnant, please let me get this one out before thinking of any more!

img_8594

I know the well wishes are there, and it’s asked in a joking sort of way, but it’s really not that funny when the person you’re asking is feeling like a walking, talking whale who is getting internally ninja’ed in the ribs by a mini Jackie Chan in the making with the impending doom of pushing them out of a rather small hole.

So, thank you for your interest at the potential size of my family, but for now, we are a family to be of 5, (6 including the cat.) and you are as in the dark as I am as to any more future Berney’s after Bump!

Becky x

6 thoughts on ““Will You Have Any More Kids?”

  1. You definitely sound like my wife ha. She doesn’t plan anything, but I do! I get asked a lot if I’d have anymore children (I have an almost 3 year old and a 6 month old) and the answer is a fan straight NO. However, who knows. I might get over the lack of sleep and zero social life quicker than expected plunge into it again. I’m started to love the idea of going with the flow. You don’t have to set expectations that way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

