pregnancy

Pregnancy Update: Week 29

Pregnancy Update 29.png

The Baby

This week, think of a butternut squash for comparison. (Seriously, who’s genius idea was it to compare a baby in utero to food?! I love it!) He’s weighing around 2.5lb and is about 38/39cm in length.

I didn’t know this, but the baby’s brain actually starts off smooth! It’s only now starting to gain new folds and grooves on it. Pretty cool huh! And for the brain to grow, it’s using more than half of baby’s energy up! Not only this, but by the time the third trimester is up, their brain will have created billions of neurons!

Along with the brain developing, the baby’s bones are hardening up each week, with around 200mg of calcium being deposited into their skeleton daily – which is about the same amount of calcium we’d get from drinking a glass of milk.

Me

With it being the last week of school, I’ve definitely felt the “end of term” feeling (as I’m sure many other parents have too!) Added with that, William had two rubbish nights sleep in a row this week, I was up administering calpol every 4 hours to keep his temperature down and then he refused to go back to sleep without me in the room. This has made for a very grumpy and tired Becky, so I’m glad we’ve got the holidays now! No more stressful and mad rushed mornings for 6 weeks! Woo!

I had an extremely uncomfortable experience earlier this week, I have no idea what it was, but I had an excruciating pain in my pelvic/groin area! I was trying to walk downstairs, and I managed two steps before I gave up and went back to bed. Naturally I googled it and the only thing that came up that sounded like what I was going through was ” Pregnancy-related Pelvic Girdle Pain (PPGP)”. My only issue is, it only happened the one time, so I can’t be 100% sure that’s what it was – either way, I don’t fancy experiencing it again!

Alongside this pain, baby has been laying in a funny position and pinching on my Sciatic Nerve, causing another uncomfortable pain in my left bum side and halfway down my thigh. (And they say you glow when you’re pregnant…) So it’s been a bit of a pants week for feeling comfortable!

On the up side, baby is wriggling constantly and his movements are now clearly visible (which I think is both cool and slightly weirds me out.) and his kicks have a bit more power in them now too, which can take me by surprise at times!

Check out last week’s update, or start from the beginning here!

Let’s get the summer holidays started now!

Becky x

One thought on “Pregnancy Update: Week 29

Leave a Reply

